Tags

, , , , , , , ,

20120416-221939.jpg

Recently Gavin and I began juicing and it has been wonderful. We try to juice at least once a day but sometimes it’s more (and sometimes it’s less). It has been a great way to get more fruits and vegetables into our diet and helps us use the fruit and vegetables we buy. I have been reading a lot about the food we eat and the effect it has on our bodies. It usually comes down to the basics. Everything in moderation. Eat vegetables. Drink water. Limit sugar and fat. Avoid processed foods. Over the years I have been interested in nutrition and tried to live a healthy lifestyle. The older I get, having babies and a different lifestyle than I did in college I am learning that good health takes work. Not just to lookhealthy, but to be healthy. In my eating, exercise and how I spend my time.

Now that I have had a baby, which was the craziest thing my body has ever endured I appreciate my body so much more. Besides the biblical call to be a good steward of my body, I have a stronger personal motivation to take care of it and be in the best condition it can be. Having just had a baby, my body is far from tip top shape.
Juicing has been a welcomed addition to my day and I feel like if I did nothing else for my health that day I at least got a huge helping of fresh food.
So what do I juice and how do I do it? Well here are some basic tips that I am learning :
– have a good juicer. There are 2 kinds of juicers centrifugal and masticating. After trying both overall we have had better results with our masticating juicer. Juice quality, efficiency handling various fruits and vegetables, and ease of cleaning in my opinion are far superior. I would be happy to answer any questions you have about it.
– acquire a taste for greens. They are better for you, have more vitamins and nutrients and overall much less sugar. Spinach, kale, beet greens, mustard greens and turnip greens are great power foods.
– use fruit to offset the “lawn” taste
– fruit juice in its pure form is incredible. Orange, apple, grape, pineapple and pears all juice beautifully and are significantly better than store bought.
– juicing makes buying bulk veggies realistic, therefore you have them available for snacks and cooking. A massive bag of carrots at Costco is around $4, huge bags of spinach, celery, apples and oranges are really reasonable and great to have on hand.
– start with the greens first then the fruit and other vegetables. It helps move food through the juicer.
– I like to start the day with a green juice that is mostly vegetables to get my body going with good fuel and not a ton of sugar.
– drink the juice ASAP. It is better tasting and more nutritious the closer to time of extraction. If you need to save it put it in a light proof and non porous container or cover a clear container with foil and keep in fridge.
– I usually have a assortment of fruit and veggies around and write down what I juice each time and if I liked it. Apples, spinach, Kale and cucumbers are staples.
– divide food into categories: sweet and not sweet. Try to use some of both in your juice. Use lemons, ginger, and parsley as seasonings and equalizers. For example sweet is most fruit (apple, kiwi, pineapple, mango) beets and carrots. Not sweet would be spinach, kale, cucumber, celery and granny smith apple.
Williams Sonoma has 30 great recipes and also this flyerto get you started. Even if you only juice once a week it is a delicious habit. My favorite right now is a few handfuls of the euro greens mix from Safeway, a small granny smith apple, a small gala apple and a lemon. Yum yum. Happy juicing!