Chicken

this picture is from witty in the city

There is a recipe that I have seen floating around pinterest for a while that people say is the best ever. About about a year ago, I decided to try it and it truly is all that it claims to be. The recipe can be found many different places, each one has its own “must do”, the original recipe came from a Trader Joe’s Cook Book. Whenever I make it I google “man pleasing chicken” and usually use the first one that comes up. Usually I end up using this recipe from witty in the city. I don’t follow her recipe exactly and it still turns out wonderfully. The ingredients are versatile and easy to have on hand and are easy to sub if needed. Here is how I make it:

Man Pleasing Chicken

Ingredients:

  • Chicken thighs- 1 package (2-3 pounds)
  • Dijon mustard- 1/2 cup
  • Maple syrup- 1/4 cup (sub with some honey too)
  • Rice/rice wine vinegar- 1 tablespoon

Preheat oven to 450. Line a 8×8 square pan with 2 layers of foil, or use a nonstick pan. Sometimes I use an oven-safe saute pan.

Pat chicken dry and place in pan, there should be enough chicken that it is not just in one layer. Mix mustard, syrup and vinegar in a bowl. Pour over the chicken and turn chicken to ensure all sides are covered. Bake for 20 minutes and let it stand for 5 minutes so sauce can thicken before serving.

Enjoy! It is always great, very forgiving and easy to throw together. I hope your busy nights are a little easier with this recipe. It might come out a little differently everytime you make it but it is always juicy and flavorful, play around with it to make it your own!